The Birchbark House (Compact Disc)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Birchbark House Cover Image
List Price: $43.99
Our Price: $39.59
(Save: $4.40 10%)
Not Yet Published

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Birchbark House series.


This National Book Award finalist by Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist Louise Erdrich is the first installment in an essential nine-book series chronicling 100 years in the life of one Ojibwe family, and includes beautiful interior black-and-white artwork done by the author.

She was named Omakayas, or Little Frog, because her first step was a hop.

Omakayas and her family live on an island in Lake Superior. Though there are growing numbers of white people encroaching on their land, life continues much as it always has.

But the satisfying rhythms of their life are shattered when a visitor comes to their lodge one winter night, bringing with him an invisible enemy that will change things forever--but that will eventually lead Omakayas to discover her calling.

By turns moving and humorous, this novel is a breathtaking tour de force by a gifted writer.

The beloved and essential Birchbark House series by Louise Erdrich includes The Birchbark House, The Game of Silence, The Porcupine Year, Chickadee, and Makoons.

Product Details
ISBN: 9798200858712
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2024
Language: English
Series: Birchbark House