Ghostly Echoes: A Jackaby Novel (Hardcover)

Ghostly Echoes: A Jackaby Novel Cover Image
List Price: $17.95
Our Price: $14.36
(Save: $3.59 20%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


“Tread lightly, Miss Rook,” warned Mr. Jackaby. “It would not do to push Miss Cavanaugh too far or too fast.”

Jenny Cavanaugh, the ghostly lady of 926 Augur Lane, has enlisted the investigative services of her fellow residents to solve a decade-old murder--her own. Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, dive into the cold case, starting with a search for Jenny’s fiancé, who went missing the night she died. But when a new, gruesome murder closely mirrors the events of ten years prior, Abigail and Jackaby realize that Jenny’s case isn’t so cold after all.

Fantasy and folklore mix with mad science as Abigail’s race to unravel the mystery leads her across the cold cobblestones of nineteenth-century New England, down to the mythical underworld, and deep into her colleagues’ grim histories to battle the most deadly foe she has ever faced.

Ghostly Echoes, the third installment in the New York Times bestselling Jackaby series, features its much-loved quirky, courageous characters and sly humor in the scariest and most exciting volume yet.

About the Author


William Ritter is an Oregon author and educator. He is the proud father of the two bravest boys in the Wild Wood, and husband to the indomitable Queen of the Deep Dark. The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling is his first book for middle-grade readers. Visit William Ritter online at rwillritter.wordpress.com and find him on Twitter: @Willothewords.

Praise For…


“Ritter’s latest glorious fusion of detective novel, ghost story, and fantasy. And, refreshingly, Ritter opts to pair magic and science here, rather than making them oppositional. But what may captivate readers most are the intriguing revelations about Jackaby’s personal history—and Abigail’s star turn at the novel’s helm...” The Horn Book Magazine

Energetic and entertainingly offbeat.” Kirkus Reviews
 
“This story has everything covered in its mashup of romance, mystery, adventure, horror creatures, fantasy lore, and gothic atmosphere….All readers will not be able to put it down.” VOYA
 
“Recommended for fans of Jonathan Stroud’s The Screaming Staircase and Jonathan Auxier’s The Night Gardener.” School Library Journal
 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781616205799
ISBN-10: 1616205792
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Publication Date: August 23rd, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Jackaby