Ratty (Hardcover)

Ratty By Suzanne Selfors, Lavanya Naidu (Illustrator) Cover Image

Ratty (Hardcover)

By Suzanne Selfors, Lavanya Naidu (Illustrator)

$17.99


Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
This heartwarming tale by bestselling author Suzanne Selfors is about the unlikely friendship between a boy who is cursed to look like a rat and a girl who loathes rodents. This instant classic is perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, A Wolf Called Wander, and Flora & Ulysses.

Ratty Barclay wasn't supposed to be born a four-foot-tall, walking, talking rodent, but thanks to the Barclay family curse, he's had to live in hiding from the rest of the world. All he wants for his thirteenth birthday is to return to his family's abandoned estate on Fairweather Island to somehow break the curse. Then he'll finally get to live his life as a four-foot-tall, walking, talking, human boy.

Edweena Gup, the granddaughter of the Barclays' groundskeeper, has dedicated her life to being a Rat-Catcher Extraordinaire like her great-great-great grandmother before her. It doesn't matter that Fairweather Island has been rat-free for over a hundred years—she's determined to make sure everyone is prepared for their imminent return. And when she spots a human-sized rat lurking on the Barclay grounds, her worst fears are confirmed.

Though it seems like Ratty and Edweena are destined to be enemies, they have a lot in common—they're both lonely and misunderstood. But will they be able to overcome their fears of each other and maybe even become . . . friends?
Suzanne Selfors is a national bestselling author with several critically acclaimed middle grade novels. Her work has received starred reviews from Kirkus, School Library Journal, Publisher's Weekly, and Library Media Connection. She currently lives in Bainbridge Island, Washington, with her husband, dog, and cat, and has two grown-up children.

Product Details ISBN: 9780593622483
ISBN-10: 0593622480
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 18th, 2024
Pages: 224
Language: English
"This book has heart, humor, mystery, and one great big lovable rat! Who could ask for more?"
—Barbara O'Connor, New York Times bestselling author of Wish

"In Ratty, Selfors cleverly tickles your funny bone, and tugs brilliantly at every last heartstring."
—Donna Barba Higuera, Newbery Award-winning author of The Last Cuentista

"Selfors' whimsical romp weaves friendship, family lore, local history, and environmental stewardship into a light mystery. A modern fairy tale that never becomes cheesy, despite being packed with heart and cheddar." —Booklist

"Ratty shows that kindness and caring can change even the most fixed mindsets." —Kirkus Reviews