The Forest Queen (Hardcover)

The Forest Queen Cover Image
List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $14.39
(Save: $3.60 20%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


From a New York Times bestselling author, a fresh, female-centered take on “Robin Hood” in which a young noblewoman, like the legendary hero, becomes an outlaw fighting for social justice. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.

When sixteen-year-old Sylvie’s brother takes over management of their family’s vast estates, Sylvie feels powerless to stop his abuse of the local commoners. Her dearest friend asks her to run away to the woods with him, and soon a host of other villagers join them. Together, they form their own community and fight to right the wrongs perpetrated by the king and his noblemen. Perfect for fans of fairy tale retellings or anyone who loves a strong female lead, this gorgeously written take on the Robin Hood tale goes beyond the original's focus on economic justice to explore love, gender, the healing power of nature, and what it means to be a family.

About the Author


Betsy Cornwell is the New York Times best-selling author of Tides, Mechanica, and Venturess. She graduated from Smith College and was a columnist and editor at Teen Ink before receiving an MFA in creative writing from Notre Dame, where she also taught fiction. After grad school, she ran away to Ireland to live with the fairies, and she now resides in a small cottage on the west coast with her horse-trainer spouse. Visit her online at betsycornwell.com, on Twitter at @Betsy_Cornwell, and on Instagram at @BetsyCornwell.

Praise For…


"A fiercely female, feminist take on the traditional legend....A lush, lovely exploration of the bonds of a community as one girl learns about her own privilege, and, eventually, her strength."--Booklist, STARRED review

"This book brings to light a strong female lead who learns the meaning of caring about others in the community...a great read with parallels to current events."--School Library Journal

"
The inspiring ethos, brisk pace, and genuinely thrilling climax all hold attention."--Kirkus


Product Details
ISBN: 9780544888197
ISBN-10: 0544888197
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: August 7th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English